A New Home 🏡

This week, I officially (finally) moved into my new apartment. Three stories high and about ten minutes from central London, I can’t think of a place where I could be happier. Over the last few weeks, we’ve been filling the place up with little touches, making it our own and creating our first home.


It is so, so, so hard to restrain myself on the household and home-ware shopping! When I was younger, I remember my mum having to drag me to the home section, now I have to be dragged out of it, haha! There’s just something so special and heartwarming about adding pieces to your own home, unique and special to you. Perhaps my favourite thing that I’ve purchased is a handmade, personalised map print showing the exact location where we met. It’s not too noticeable, unless you know where to look, which I think makes it quirky and interesting, a print of London with a special little hidden meaning.


The flat is always lovely and toasty, without ever having to touch the radiators! This is perfect for me, I loooove the heat and it will be amazing in Winter. But, I’m not going to lie it’s been pretty tough over the last few weeks when I’ve been over here in this London heat wave!

One amazing thing about the move is that we now live next door to a 24 hour gym, which means I have no excuses for getting my bum in gear and starting a little fitness journey of my own. I’m actually really excited about this, the two main things that have always put me off going to the gym before are one, having to trek all the way there and all the way back and two, getting ready in the changing rooms, which I always hate doing! The gym next door also offers classes, which I believe will give me a little push in the right direction and motivate me to get out and do something new. I’m really hoping that the fitness bug will bite (mainly so I can keep on eating all the pancakes, but the guilt free version).


Before now, I’ve always lived in shared accommodation in London. First, there was the eight bedroom flat in student halls where I stayed for a year. When I moved into the flat, I had very little idea of whom I’d be moving in with as it was randomly allocated. We had sought each other out on Facebook on a “Freshers ’13” Facebook page and spoke briefly, but what can you really say to complete strangers? It was however, comforting to be familiar with a few faces that first day our parents dropped us all off on what seemed like the weirdest blind-friend-date of all time, “meet your new housemates”! The year turned out to be an eye-opening experience, full of adventures, new faces, making forever friends, silly fall outs and of course the odd drunken kiss which, of course, the entire flat would gather the next morning to discuss, in detail. The only photo I can find of my room there is from Christmas, hence the decs!

After that, myself and four other friends I had made in the first year set off and found a lovely house just down the road from campus. The décor in the house was like something straight out of “That 70’s Show”, but for we soon made it our own, oh and I had a wall long of white wardrobes… which was dreamy. All. That. Storage. I made so many memories in that house and I’ll always think fondly on the two years I spent there. I think it’s been living in that house, and the independence and responsibilities that came along with it, that’s helped me to grow up and get to know myself, becoming comfortable in my own skin.

I feel like after the last three years I am so ready and so happy to move in with my best friend. I’m so excited for the time we’ll spend here and the memories that’ll be made before one day it’s time to move on again. Here’s to the next chapter! ♥

 

Leave a Reply

